Community Blog Topic: Account-wide professions.

When it comes to professions in WoW, I’m not really big into them. My Warlock is an alchemist for convenient flasks and pots, and an engineer for the intellect cooldown. I have most professions maxed across various toons, but since I don’t care to have each profession on more than one character, I leave my newer alts without any professions.

All in one place.
Having professions be account-wide is an interesting take on the system, and I can see it working very well. Though there are flaws that would need to be ironed out first, which could have some negative impacts on professions themselves, like the removal of the profession bonuses, or the fact that the economy could take a hit since everyone has the ability to craft anything they need and gather the resources they need to make it – though this is combated by laziness.

If profession bonuses like the buffed flasks for alchemists or the cheaper and stronger gems that Jewel Crafters can make, then every raider is going to be forced or feel forced to max out EVERY profession so that they can benefit from all of the boosts they give.

The simple solution to this is to just remove the bonuses they give. All fixed, right? Well, maybe…but not exactly. Now you have to deal with the issue of professions not having enough incentive for people to max out, most people already feel like maxing two professions is enough of a grind, so unless you have some regular need for a particular profession I am under the impression that most people won’t care to take advantage of the system.

Another solution to account-wide professions and possible problems arising from the current incentives/bonuses would be changing them up to add variety with them and then changing the system so that you can only choose from a limited amount of bonuses at a time. The changes for variety would be necessary since with the exception of gathering and engineering, all the professions math out the roughly equal boosts, so the choice wouldn’t be boring and not even really matter.

Now I’m keen for this.
I went into this topic not really having much of an opinion on account wide professions. But now I’m actually really liking the idea. Sure the system would need some working out and the professions system probably needs some updates as a whole, something to liven it up and make the experience more enjoyable, rather than thinking the whole time “gosh I really just want this to be over and done with so that I never have to deal with it again.” But whether or not account-wide come or not, I want to see some changes to professions as a whole.

About ruhka

I am a Warlock on Caelestrasz US-H. I'm a pretty terrible blogger and I am only doing this so that I am not constant spamming on twitter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

